Asian Boxing Championship: Amit Panghal lost to Uzbekistan boxer Zirov in the final, could not save the title

India’s Amit Panghal lost to Rio Olympic gold medalist and reigning world champion Uzbekistan boxer Zoirov Shakhobidin on the final day of the 2021 ASBC Asian Women’s and Men’s Boxing Championships in Dubai on Monday. In this way, he could not defend the title that Amit had won in 2019. Shakhobidin defeated Asian Games champion Top Seed Panghal 3-2 in 52kg. Panghal, who has won bronze in the World Championship, will now have to be content with the silver medal. This is overall third and first silver medal in Asian Championship. Earlier, Panghal had won gold in 2019 and bronze in 2017 in Tashkent.

Apart from Panghal, Shiv Thapa (64kg) and Sanjeet (91kg) will compete in the final today. Assam’s boxer Thapa, who has been the joint most successful male boxer in the championship with five consecutive medals, has to accept the challenge of Asian Games silver medalist Baatarsukh Chinzorig of Mongolia. Second seed Sanjeet will face Rio Olympic silver medalist Vasily Levitt, who will be aiming for his fourth Asian Championship gold medal in the ring.

Earlier, in this prestigious championship being jointly organized by the Boxing Federation of India (BFI) and UAE Boxing Federation, Indian women performed brilliantly, winning a total of 10 medals. This includes Pooja Rani (75kg) gold while MC Mary Kom in 51kg category, Lalbutsahi in 64kg category and Anupama won silver in plus 81kg category.

Apart from this, Simranjit Kaur (60kg), Lovlina Borgohain (69kg), Jasmine (57kg), Sakshi Chaudhary (64kg), Monika (48kg) and Sweety (81kg) won bronze medals. In the men’s section, Vikas Krishan (69kg) and Varinder Singh (60kg) also won bronze.

Due to their spectacular success, India could win a total of 15 medals. The special thing is that Indian women won medals in every weight category and gave India better success than in 2019, when India won 13 medals in Bangkok.

In this, the achievement of Bhiwani of Haryana is special because she was successful in saving her title. However, Mary Kom could not win her record sixth gold. In the same way, Lalbutshahi impressed everyone with his fearless game.

The special thing about this year is that there has been a huge increase in the prize money of the championship. The International Boxing Association (AIBA) has allocated a prize money of US$ 4,00,000 for this championship.

The gold medalists in the men’s and women’s categories are being awarded USD 10,000, while the silver and bronze medalists are being awarded USD 5,000 and USD 2,500, respectively.

It is worth mentioning that 150 boxers from 17 countries including strong boxing nations like India, Uzbekistan, Mongolia, Philippines and Kazakhstan participated in this championship.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *