IPL New Teams: Ahmedabad city to be named, Sardar Patel Stadium will be the 9th ground of IPL

In the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021, 10 teams will be seen playing against each other instead of eight. The annual general meeting of the Indian Cricket Board will be held on 24 December in which a decision will be taken to include two new teams in the IPL. The BCCI wants to include two more teams in the IPL, given the success and financial benefits of the IPL 2020 held in the UAE amid the Corona epidemic. According to board sources, the name of the city of Ahmedabad has been decided. The Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium located in Motera, Ahmedabad will be the ninth venue of the IPL.

Apart from this, the names of Kanpur and Lucknow for the tenth team are discussed. According to sources, Adani Group has shown interest in auctioning the new team of IPL. Apart from this, Hero Group and Goenka Group also want to buy IPL team. In the IPL, due to a two-year ban on Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals in 2016, Rajkot city of Gujarat has got a chance earlier. At that time, the team named as Gujarat Lions was led by Suresh Raina.

Sardar Patel Cricket Stadium will be the ninth venue of the IPL

Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium situated in Motora has been completed in 63 acres of land at a cost of about Rs 750 crore. With a capacity of one hundred and ten thousand spectators, this stadium is bigger than the Melbourne Cricket Ground. The stadium also has 11 types of pitches, three practice grounds and an indoor cricket academy. There will be no problem even after the rain on this ground. There is a modern system here to extract rain water, which can prepare the ground after the rain in just hours.

BCCI meeting will elect new selectors

The BCCI has sent an agenda of 23 points to all recognized units before convening the AGM. The most important point in this is to make it a tournament of ten teams by including two new teams in the IPL. In the meeting, it will also be talked about who will be the representative of BCCI in ICC and Asian Cricket Council. It is believed that board secretary Jai Shah will be given this responsibility. Three new selectors are also to be elected along with the chairman of the selection committee. A senior source on the board said, ‘The selection committee is part of the cricket committee. Apart from this, a technical committee is also to be formed. These are all sub-committees.

A sub-committee of umpires will also be formed. Along with this, issues related to the National Cricket Academy will also be discussed. The talks will also discuss issues such as India’s 2021 Future Tour program, preparations for next year’s T20 World Cup and the demand to include cricket in the 2028 Los Angeles Games.

IPL New Teams: Ahmedabad to be named, second team will be selected in Kanpur / Lucknow

India vs Australia 1st T20 Playing XI: T Natarajan got a chance to debut, many changes have happened in both teams


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *