IPL: On this day SRH won the title for the first time, the final match was very exciting

Sunrisers Hyderabad won the Indian Premier League (IPL) title for the first time in the year 2016. This match was very exciting. Hyderabad team defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 8 runs in the final match on this day five years ago i.e. on 29 May 2016. More than 400 runs were scored in this match.

The final match between the two teams was played at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. In which both the teams performed brilliantly. In 2016, David Warner & Co. won the IPL Trophy for the first time by winning in a thrilling match against Virat Kohli-led Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

Hyderabad scored 208 runs
After winning the toss in the final match, the Sunrisers Hyderabad team decided to bat first. SRH, led by Australian opener David Warner, scored 208 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the allotted 20 overs against RCB. During this, David Warner made 69 runs in just 38 balls and Ben Cutting played a flamboyant innings of 39 not out off 15 balls. Instead of which Hyderabad set a target of 209 runs in front of Bangalore. Chris Jordan took the highest three wickets for RCB. Srinath Aravind took 2 and Yuzvendra Chahal took 1 wicket.

Good start for Bangalore
Any team can come under pressure if they have to chase more than 200 scores in the final. In such a situation, the team chasing the score needs a good start. Something similar happened in this match also. There was an opening partnership of 114 runs between Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli. Due to which the team of SRH started appearing in difficulties. But the bowling department of Hyderabad did not lose hope and came back strongly.

Universe boss was dismissed after scoring 76 runs from 38 balls. After this, captain Kohli also returned to the pavilion after scoring 54 runs in 35 balls. After this, no Bangalore batsman could do anything special. RCB’s wickets kept falling like a deck of cards. Ben Cutting took 2 wickets in this match and also performed brilliantly with the bat. He was awarded the Man of the Match award in this match. He took the crucial wickets of Chris Gayle and KL Rahul and turned the match completely upside down. The final nail on the coffin came in the form of Shane Watson’s wicket. SRH won the match by 8 runs. Virat Kohli received the Man of the Tournament award for his excellent performance.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *